the itjerk

my adventures with technology

amazon echo, arrived

echo
I received my Amazon Echo unit this week, several months after ordering it. The $99 (with Prime Membership) unit is sleek, solid, and very black. While it should have been simple to configure – get the app for Android (or via the web, as long as it’s on one’s wireless network) and follow the instructions – getting it to sign into my wifi required a call to Amazon and then a talk to the development team. (Seems the issue was with the app not recognizing WPA/WPA2 correctly). Anyway, that aside, I was up and running.
Alexa has problems understanding:
“What time is it in a stop stop?”
“Would you like to eat it blueberries?”
“when is the next bus gonna be at at us an in game”

And knowing pretty basic stuff:
Who did the chicago blackhawks play tonight?
Q&A
Sorry, I couldn’t find the answer to your question.

But she’s kinda funny:
“Would you like to eat a blueberry?
Q&A
I don’t have preferences or desires.

Are you a man?
Q&A
I’m female in character.

Are you hungry?
Q&A
I don’t get hungry or thirsty, but thank you for asking.

The kids love her,
What is eighty one minus twenty eight?
Q&A
81 minus 28 is 53.

Yet her pronunciation isn’t so good (“Jonathan Toes” vs “Toews”)

The Echo App logs “cards” of what Alexa has heard, allowing one to send feedback to Amazon, which presumably will help improve her.
She’s perfect for playing music and sounds very good, but wouldn’t it be great if she could find a UPnP server on my local network and access that? So yes, the possibilities of Echo are boundless – think Wikipedia reader, think Translator, think Sports – but she’s definitely a work in progress. I can’t wait however until I can call her Samantha or… Sudo!

Comments are closed.

