the itjerk

my adventures with technology

squeeze2upnp + beep = lms

Screenshot from 2015-03-11 18-56-42

Logitech Media Server (LMS), the old Squeezebox Server or Slimserver, is my go-to for playing my music library on hard disk. I use a Squeezebox v3, various Raspberry Pi’s, and now with the help of this nice little program, my Beep. Squeeze2upnp (sq2u) is as it says, “a bridge between LMS and uPNP devices”. It translates LMS instructions for UPnP devices. More simply, it makes my Beep appear as a playback device in any LMS app or webpage.

You can download Squeeze2upnp below, it’s precompiled for Linux and Windows. There’s instructions in the user guide on how to set it up and get it running. Make sure your Beep is playing while Squeeze2upnp is in “discovery” mode, and be sure to daemonize it with the “-z” option, otherwise CPU usage goes through the roof. You will also have to edit the config.xml file to support FLAC playback. Also, you may have to monkey with your firewall, I’m not sure what ports it uses, but it caused an issue for me. (more later).

to discover UPnP devices on local subnet and configure sq2u to play them:
./squeeze2upnp-x86 -i config.xml
to daemonize sq2u:
./squeeze2upnp-x86 -z

That’s it, give it a few minutes and your UPnp device will appear
Big shout out to philippe44 for his active development of the Squeeze2upnp program. I had an issue with it crashing, sent him a debug file, and all is now well. That’s the beauty of FOSS.

Update: philippe44 is currently working on a third-party plug-in for LMS that automates discovery and playback to your Beep inside the LMS interface. Check out the thread above at slimdevices.com for more info.

On the web
https://github.com/philippe44/LMS-to-uPnP

Comments are closed.

