the itjerk

my adventures with technology

windows 7

I picked up a copy of Windows 7 Home Premium edition from DigitalRiver. The education special was indeed quite special: $29 for an upgrade edition, with the media costing an extra $13. So, I shrank my hard drive, made a new partition and popped in the Win7 disc. An hour later, I was in business.

The good news? All the hype about Windows 7 seems to be true. It is easier to navigate, it performs flawlessly, and even offered to download new drivers for my Samsung ML-1710 laser printer. I had IIS up and running my ASP/Access site in no time at all, and it runs perfectly fine on my old Dell C521, which is powered by an Athlon X2 4000 and 3GB of RAM. Still can't print from Linux however.

Oh yeah, and don't forget about "God Mode". Just create a folder with the text below and you'll be able to access hundreds of settings!

God Mode.{ED7BA470-8E54-465E-825C-99712043E01C}

Comments are closed.

