the itjerk

my adventures with technology

dell such a deal!

I've been toying with the idea of replacing my desktop computer; the old machine is about four years old, and while the performance is still superb, the whole XP look is really dated once you spend some time with Windows Vista. The Dell E520 (below) had impressed me enough: Dell's come a long way since the clamshell design of a few years back. However, techbargains.com revealed a deal I couldn't pass up: C521, Athlon X2 4000+, 2GB RAM, 320GB HD, DVD+-RW, Media Reader, blah, blah and Windows Home Premium all for $425.00. That's not only inexpensive, it downright cheap!

The wife gave the green light, so I ordered it on 7/24/07, and had it on 07/28/07. That's fast.

I configured it to dual-boot, with Vista and Ubuntu. Was this easy or what? I just did a "shrink" to the massive C: in Vista, then booted off of Ubuntu CD and started the install, selecting "guided using freespace" when partitioning. After a reboot, grub had automatically configured Vista into the bootloader. I thenb edited /boot/grub/menu.lst to set it as the default.

Now to clean up my old Thinkcentre A51 for eBay!

Techbargains.com:
http://www.techbargains.com/news_displayItem.cfm/96815

Comments are closed.

